Summer 2015 Newsletter Page 1


Inside this Issue:

Executive Director’s Message – Page 2

TD Bank Grant & Barton Program – page 3

Past-President’s Message – Page 4

President’s Message – Page 5

Education Officer’s Message – Page 6

Summer Reading Club – Page 7

Assistant Education Officer’s Message – Page 8

Tuition Support Program Policy Paper – Page 9

International Literacy Day – Page 10

Congratulations to our dear Millie LeBlanc! The 2015 Recipient of the Hon. Andy Scott Award

The Learning  Disabilities Association of New Brunswick is proud to announce that our beloved board member, Millie LeBlanc, is this year’s much-deserving recipient of the Honorable Andy Scott Award, which was presented to her at the Legislative Breakfast as part of the 2015 Disability Awareness Week. The purpose of this prestigious award is to recognize individuals who have made it their life’s work to improve the lives of people with disabilities throughout New Brunswick. Anyone who has ever met her know that Millie LeBlanc has more than accomplished this through her varied work and volunteer positions over the years.

A graduate of St. Francis Xavier University, Millie received a Bachelor of Arts with Honours in Sociology, and chose to continue her education at the University of Michigan where she received a Masters of Arts in Library Science. Millie also took classes on Learning Disabilities at Mount Allison University. Millie is very passionate about lifelong learning and literacy as evidenced by her excellent work with the Learning Disabilities Association of New Brunswick and as LDANB’s representative on the national LDA board. She has also clearly demonstrated this passion through her many years of teaching and research. Millie is very involved in the Moncton community and has received 125 medals for her many efforts and volunteer work.

Please join us in congratulating Millie, both for all that she has accomplished over the years in improving the lives of people with learning disabilities, as well as being the 2015 recipient of the Honourable Andy Scott Award.

Next Page